Program dedicated to veterans

Donate

The aim of our activities is to encourage you to break isolation, socialize in a small group, acquire new sporting skills at your own pace, boost your self-esteem and improve your quality of life. You'll almost always find a 'hybrid' touch to our proposed activities. You'll be able to experience inclusion in sport by rubbing shoulders with veterans and people living with a disability during your activity-we're that inclusive!

 All activities are offered in a friendly, respectful environment, and always free of charge.

Add to this, if you feel like it, the opportunity to consider volunteering with our core programs aimed at inclusion in sport for people living with a disability. The benefits of volunteering are priceless.

The majority of veterans who join our team of volunteers will tell you how much volunteering has positively changed their quality of life.

► 10% of all ASF volunteers are from a Canadian Armed Forces background

► veterans contribute to more than 20% of all ASF volunteer hours

Family is also important, so don't hesitate to contact the program coordinator to participate as a couple or with a family whenever possible.

Inclusion in sport is an integral part of veteran dedicated activities!

At every veteran dedicated event, ASF offers people living with a disability the opportunity to take part with you and they will be supported with ASF equipement and veteran volunteers. This is an opportunity to demonstrate the true meaning of inclusion in sport and responsible use of ASF resources. If you know someone living with a disability in your area, please let them know to get in touch with us as soon as possible. Participation in these activities is free and open to people living with a disability, even if they are not veterans.

To register for an activity in this context, contact the Veteran Program Coordinator by email at: veteran@sportsadaptes.ca.

Summer 2024 Veteran Program

The plan for summer activities dedicated to veterans will include water sports days focusing on seated water skiing, to be held at St-Jean-sur-Richelieu on 10 July and 7 August 2024 (Montérégie) and at Lac St-Joseph on 5 and 29-30 and 31 July (Quebec City region). As each of these events will take place under the hybrid formula, participants living with a disability will be invited, whether veterans or not.

An event dedicated solely to women veterans will also be held early in the autumn, with more details to be announced as they become available.

The summer season will culminate in a recognition event for ASF veteran volunteers, which could take place over several days around the second week of September. More details will also be announced.

At any time, feel free to contact us to express your interest and be promptly notified of veterans' activities by subscribing to our page Facebook

 

Winter 2024 Veteran Program - Completed

The 2024 winter program brought together nearly fifty veterans, volunteers and people living with disabilities. Our activities centered on downhill skiing, with a first ski safari at Valinouët (Saguenay), Stoneham (Quebec) and Vallée du Parc (Mauricie). While the weather played a trick on our Saguenay itinerary, the other activities were a resounding success. The backcountry alpine skiing introductory camp and the adaptive alpine skiing familiarization session at Massif du Sud in the Chaudière-Appalaches region were also very popular. For more information, please see our publications Facebook

 

ASF strongly believes that veteran volunteers find a sense of accomplishment and belonging to a mission greater than themselves.

Programme dédié aux vétéranes et vétérans

Je donne

L’objectif des activités proposées est de vous encourager à briser l’isolement, socialiser en petit groupe, acquérir de nouvelles aptitudes sportives à votre rythme, agir sur l’estime de soi et améliorer votre qualité de vie. Vous retrouverez presque toujours un touche ‘hybride’ à nos activités proposées. Il s’agira de vivre l’inclusion dans le sport en cotoyant des vétérans ou personnes qui vivent avec un handicap pendant votre activité, on est inclusifs de même!

 L’ensemble des activités sont offertes dans un environnement convivial et respectueux,  et toujours sans frais.

On y ajoute, si le coeur vous en dit, l’opportunité de considérer devenir bénévole avec nos programmes principaux visant l’inclusion dans le sport pour les personnes vivant avec un handicap. Les bénéfices d’oeuvrer comme bénévole sont sans prix.

La majorité des vétéran.e.s qui joignent l’équipe de bénévoles vous témoigneront à quel point le bénévolat a positivement changé leur qualité de vie.

► 10% des bénévoles FSA sont issus des Forces armées canadiennes

► les vétéran.e.s contribuent à plus de 20 % de l’ensemble des heures de bénévolat à la FSA

La famille c’est important aussi, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec le coordonnateur du programme pour participer en couple ou en famille lorsque c’est possible.

L’inclusion dans le sport fait partie intégrante des activités dédiées aux vétéran.e.s!

Lors de chaque activité dédiée aux vétéranes et vétérans, la FSA offre des places pour des personnes vivant avec un handicap qui seront supportés avec l’équipement et les bénévoles vétérans de la FSA.  C’est l’occasion de démontrer le sens véritable de l’inclusion dans le sport et un usage responsable des ressources de la FSA. Si vous connaissez une personne vivant avec un handicap de votre région, avisez-la d’entrer en contact avec nous le plus rapidement possible. La participation à ces activités est gratuite et est ouverte aux personnes vivant avec un handicap même s’ils ne sont pas vétérans.

Pour vous inscrire dans ce contexte, contactez le coordonnateur à l’adresse email suivante: veteran@sportsadaptes.ca.

Programme vétéran.e.s été 2024

Le plan d’activités estivales dédiées aux vétéranes et vétérans sera composé de journées de sports nautiques notamment orientés sur la pratique du ski nautique assis qui se tiendront à St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, le 10 juillet et le 7 août 2024 (Montérégie) ainsi qu’au Lac St-Joseph le 5 puis les 29-30 et 31 juillet (région de Québec). Comme chacune de ces activités se déroulera sous la formule hybride, on invitera des participant.e.s vivant avec un handicap qu’elles soient vétérans ou non.

Une activité dédiée uniquement aux femmes vétéranes aura aussi lieu tôt à l’automne plus de détails seront communiqués lorsque les détails seront formalisés.

La saison estivale culminera avec une activité de reconnaissance envers les vétéran.e.s bénévoles de la FSA, cette activité pourrait s’échelonner sur plusieurs jours vers la seconde semaine de septembre.

En tout temps, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous pour souligner votre intérêt et être avisés promptement des activités vétéran.e.s en vous abonnant à notre page Facebook

 

Programme vétéran.e.s hiver 2024 – complété

Le programme hivernal 2024 a regroupé près d’une cinquantaine de vétéran.e.s, bénévoles et personnes vivant avec un handicap. Nos activités ont gravité autour du ski alpin lors d’une première activité de type safari ski au Valinouët (Saguenay), Stoneham (Québec) et Vallée du parc (Mauricie). Si la météo jouait un tour à notre itinéraire au Saguenay, les autres activités eurent un retentissant succès. Le camp d’initiation à la randonnée alpine ainsi que la familiarisation au ski alpin adapté au Massif du Sud en Chaudière-Appalaches ont aussi eu la cote. Pour en savoir plus, n’hésitez pas à visiter nos publications Facebook

 

La FSA a la forte conviction que les vétéran.e.s bénévoles retrouvent un sentiment d’accomplissement et d’appartenance à une mission plus grande que soi.